Jimmy Johnson, Lloyd Carr headline Hall of Fame ballot


A total of of 88 individuals have been named to the ballot for potential induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced Monday afternoon.

Of those 88, 79 are players and nine are former coaches.  There are 17 players and four coaches who are on the ballot for the first time.

The players on the ballot for the first time are Carlos Alvarez, Florida, Wide Receiver, 1969-71; Ted Brown, North Carolina State, Tailback, 1975-78; Brandon Burlsworth, Arkansas, Offensive Guard, 1995-98; Tommie Frazier, Nebraska, Quarterback, 1992-95; Joe Garten, Colorado, Offensive Guard, 1987-90; Joe Hamilton, Georgia Tech, Quarterback, 1996-99; Leotis Harris, Arkansas, Offensive Guard, 1974-77; Greg Lewis, Washington, Running Back, 1987-90; Marty Lyons, Alabama, Defensive Tackle, 1975-78; Anthony Poindexter, Virginia, Defensive Back, 1995-98; Willie Roaf, Louisiana Tech, Offensive Lineman, 1990-92; Sandy Stephens, Minnesota, Quarterback, 1959-61; Derrick Thomas, Alabama, Linebacker, 1985-88; Scott Thomas, Air Force, Safety, 1982-85; Rob Waldrop, Arizona, Defensive Lineman, 1990-93; Gene Washington, Michigan State, Wide Receiver, 1964-66; and Lorenzo White, Michigan State, Running Back, 1984-87.

The coaches are Lloyd Carr – Michigan (1995-2007); Fisher DeBerry – Air Force (1984-2006); Jimmy Johnson – Oklahoma State ( 1979-83), Miami, Fla. (1984-88); and R.C. Slocum – Texas A&M (1989-2002).

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 4.79 million people have played college football,” said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. “The Hall’s requirement of being a First Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,900 individuals who are even eligible to be on the ballot, so being in today’s group of 79 names means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are proud to announce their names today.”

“Having a ballot and a voice in the selection of the inductees is one of the most cherished NFF member benefits,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, a 1989 Hall of Fame inductee from Ole Miss. “There is no group more knowledgeable or passionate about college football than our membership, and the tradition of the ballot helps us engage them in the lofty responsibility of selecting those who have reached the pinnacle of achievement in our sport.”

The Div. 1-A (FBS) Hall of Fame Class will be announced live in New York City during a May press conference and inducted at The National Football Foundation’s Annual Awards Dinner on December 6, 2011.

For the complete list of players and coaches on this year’s ballot, click HERE.