Ty Detmer announced as first member of HOF’s 2012 class


Tuesday morning at 11:30 a.m. ET, the National Football Foundation will announce the entire 14-player, three-coach 2012 class of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Ahead of that full unveiling, the NFF gave a preemptive sneak peek at one of the members of the Hall’s class this year.

In a release, the NFF announced that former BYU quarterback Ty Detmer will enter the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend (for now) as a member of the Class of 2012.  Detmer ended his prolific career with the Cougars in 1991 with a Heisman Trophy, a Maxwell Award, two Davey O’Brien Awards and 59 NCAA records, along with being named a two-time consensus All-American.

“Ty was a tremendous talent and an absolute legend at BYU,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell said in a statement. “He accomplished almost everything a player can do in college football, and the way he played the game was truly ahead of its time. He is a very deserving member of the College Football Hall of Fame.”

Detmer becomes the fifth former BYU quarterback and seventh former player/coach overall to be elected into the hall, joining Gifford Nielsen (1994), Marc Wilson (1996), Jim McMahon (1998), LaVell Edwards (2004), Steve Young (2005), Gordon Hudson (2009).

A total of 76 players and eight coaches are on this year’s ballot.

One thing when it comes to the announcement: if Tommie Frazier‘s name is not one of the 14 players, the entire concept of a College Football Hall of Fame.  The former Nebraska QB should’ve made it in last year; not making it this year would be borderline criminal.

(Photo credit: BYU athletics)