Johnny Manziel named SEC Male Athlete of the Year


Along with pseudo-controversies, Johnny Manziel has seen myriad honors roll in following his breakthrough 2012 season.

With the start of a new season fast approaching on the horizon, Johnny Football has added yet another to his burgeoning trophy cabinet.

Tuesday, it was announced that Manziel was named the 2013 Roy F. Kramer SEC Male Athlete of the Year.  Georgia swimmer Allison Schmitt was given the female version of the award, named in honor of the former SEC commissioner.

The awards are based on a vote of conference athletic directors.

“The SEC is very proud to honor Johnny and Allison, as they are outstanding examples of what a student-athlete can accomplish through hard work and dedication.” said SEC commissioner Mike Slive in a statement. “Their commitment to excellence have made them fine representatives of their universities and this conference.  We congratulate them and wish them the best in their future endeavors.”

In addition to becoming the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy in Texas A&M’s inaugural season in the SEC, Manziel was named first-team All-SEC, SEC Offensive Player of the Year, SEC Freshman of the Year, Associated Press first-team All-American, first-team All-America by the Football Writers Association of America and the AP Player of the Year.

Manziel is the first football player to win the award since Alabama running back Mark Ingram in 2010.  All told, 15 football players have won claimed top male honors in the 38-year history of the award.

The only other football players who was nominated for the award this year were South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney former Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones.