Clowney, Nix among preseason candidates for Bednarik Award


Earlier today, the Maxwell Football Club released its preseason watch lists for both the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards.

You can view the Maxwell preseason watch list, with all 76 players, HERE.

The Bednarik Award, which is given annually to the nation’s best defensive player, was a bit more selective in placing players on its preseason watch list with a mere 75 candidates. Among them are South Carolina DE Jadeveon Clowney, Notre Dame defensive tackle Louis Nix III and Arizona State defensive tackle Will Sutton.

Last year’s winner, Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o, made history when he became the first player to win both the Maxwell and the Bednarik in the same year.

The winner of the Bednarik will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12.

(Image courtesy of the Maxwell Football Club)