Who’s In? Alabama, Oregon, Florida State and Ohio State make first College Football Playoff


The decisions have been made. The playoff field is now set for the first College Football Playoff. After months of debates and heated discussions about which four teams are the best in the country, the first playoff selection committee for college football has had their say.

Alabama, SEC champion? In. They are the top seed, which will send them to the Sugar Bowl.

Oregon, Pac-12 champion. In. The Ducks are second in the playoff field, and will play in the Rose Bowl.

Florida State, ACC champion and defending national champion? In. They are seeded third, and will fly back to Pasadena to face the Ducks at the site of last year’s BCS national championship. Jameis Winston vs. Marcus Mariota in a battle of Heisman Trophy quarterbacks?

The biggest decision was which team would be the fourth team in. In year one of this new postseason model, that honor goes to Ohio State, champions of the Big Ten. Urban Meyer vs. Nick Saban in the Sugar Bowl is your semifinal match-up.

Sorry Baylor (No. 5) and TCU (No. 6).

The co-Big 12 champions were locked out of the first College Football Playoff. Was it the lack of conference championship game in the conference that states it is the home of one true champion? Or was the committee swayed enough by the rise of Ohio State down the stretch enough to overcome the impact of a loss early in the season at home against Virginia Tech?

TCU took the biggest fall from last week’s ranking. The Horned Frogs were ranked third in the playoff rankings and blew out Iowa State. Clearly, despite the favorable position given to them last week was not enough to hang on in a win-and-in situation. Finally, the head-to-head result in favor of Baylor had an impact, but ultimately Baylor and TCU are each losers in the first year of this new playoff model.

Your College Football Playoff Match-Ups

Sugar Bowl: Alabama vs. Ohio State

Rose Bowl: Oregon vs. Florida State

So there you have it. The debates are over, the field is set. Now there is nothing more to do than let the national championship be decided on the field.

Alabama’s Anderson repeats as Bronko Nagurski award winner

Getty Images
1 Comment

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Alabama outside linebacker Will Anderson Jr. has become the second two-time winner of the Bronko Nagurski Award given to the nation’s top collegiate defensive player.

Anderson was presented the award on Monday night by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

The 6-foot-4, 243-pound Anderson had 10 sacks for the No. 5-ranked Crimson Tide this season. He also won the award last year after recording 17 1/2 sacks.

Anderson, a junior, had two sacks in Alabama’s regular-season win finale against rival Auburn and had his first touchdown when he returned an interception 25 yards against Louisiana-Monroe.

Anderson joins former Northwestern linebacker Pat Fitzgerald as the only two-time winner of the award. Fitzgerald won the award in 1995 and 1996 and later went on to become the head coach at Northwestern.

It’s unclear if Anderson will enter the NFL draft or return to Alabama next season.

FSU standout QB Jordan Travis returning for senior season

Alicia Devine/Tallahassee Democrat / USA TODAY NETWORK

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State quarterback Jordan Travis, the fourth player in school history to account for 3,000 yards and 30 touchdowns in a single season, is staying in school for his senior year.

Travis made the announcement Monday, the same day hundreds of players across the nation entered the NCAA transfer portal or declared for the NFL draft. Travis chose a different path and could be an early favorite in next year’s Heisman Trophy race.

“So many memories have been made on this field and we’re not done yet,” Travis said in a highlight video posted on social media. “See y’all in 2023.”

A fourth-year junior, Travis has 22 touchdown passes to go along with seven rushing scores, one receiving and just four interceptions. He has led the 13th-ranked Seminoles (9-3) to five consecutive wins as they prepare to play Oklahoma (6-6) in the Cheez-It Bowl on Dec. 29 in Orlando.

Travis joined FSU’s three Heisman Trophy winners – Charlie Ward in 1993, Chris Weinke in 2000 and Jameis Winston in 2013 – to account for 3,000 yards and 30 TDs in a season. He is one of six QBs in Power Five conferences with at least 20 TD passes and four or fewer interceptions.