Florida, Michigan, Michigan State, USC (still) only schools to have at least one player drafted every year in Common Draft Era


There still remains one constant when it comes to the NFL draft.  Actually, four of them.

Florida, Michigan, Michigan State and USC all had players selected at various points in the 2020 NFL Draft.  Why is that relevant?  It means that, per ESPN Stats & Info, those are the only schools to have had at least one player drafted every year in the Common Era Draft.  That era started in 1967.

Nebraska had been a part of that group until 2019.  That year, zero Cornhuskers were selected.  The Men of the Corn did start a new streak as defensive tackle Khalil Davis was taken in the sixth round by the Indianapolis Colts.  Another was taken in the middle of the second round.

Michigan State and USC narrowly joined Nebraska as the Spartans and Trojans had just two players each selected.  At the opposite end was rival Michigan, which had 10.  The Wolverines were one of three schools to hit double-digits.  One of the three was LSU, which tied a record with 14.  The other?  Rival Ohio State with 10 as well.

And just who were the players selected who helped keep the respective streaks alive?  Glad you asked:


  • Round 1, No. 9 overall: cornerback CJ Henderson, Jacksonville Jaguars.
  • Round 2, No. 57 overall: wide receiver Van Jefferson, Los Angeles Rams.
  • Round 3, No. 79 overall: defensive end Jabari Zuniga, New York Jets.
  • Round 3, No. 90 overall:  linebacker Jonathan Greenard, Houston Texans.
  • Round 4, No. 120 overall: running back Lamical Perine, New York Jets.
  • Round 6, No. 214 overall: wide receiver Freddie Swain, Seattle Seahawks.
  • Round 7, No. 252 overall: wide receiver Tyrie Cleveland, Denver Broncos.


  • Round 1, No. 24 overall: center Cesar Ruiz, New Orleans Saints.
  • Round 2, No. 6 overall: linebacker Josh Uche, New England Patriots.
  • Round 4, No. 143 overall: offensive lineman Ben Bredeson, Baltimore Ravens.
  • Round 5, No. 162 overall: linebacker Khaleke Hudson, Washington Redskins.
  • Round 5, No. 177 overall: defensive end Mike Danna, Kansas City Chiefs.
  • Round 6, No. 182 overall: offensive lineman Michael Onwenu, New England Patriots.
  • Round 6, No. 187 overall: wide receiver Donovan  Peoples-Jones.
  • Round 6, No. 192 overall: offensive lineman Jon Runyan Jr., Green Bay Packers.
  • Round 6, No. 203 overall: defensive back Josh Metellus, Minnesota Vikings.
  • Round 6, No. 213 overall: defensive back Jordan Glasgow, Indianapolis Colts.


  • Round 4, No. 137 overall: cornerback Josiah Scott, Jacksonville Jaguars.
  • Round 7, No. 225 overall: defensive lineman Kenny Willekes, Minnesota Vikings.


  • Round 1, No. 18 overall: offensive tackle Austin Jackson, Miami Dolphins.
  • Round 2, No. 34 overall: wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr., Indianapolis Colts.

One final note: According to the Big Ten Network, Michigan State has now had a player selected in 80 straight NFL drafts.  That would be way back in 1940.  The first NFL draft was held four years earlier.

Alabama’s Anderson repeats as Bronko Nagurski award winner

Getty Images

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Alabama outside linebacker Will Anderson Jr. has become the second two-time winner of the Bronko Nagurski Award given to the nation’s top collegiate defensive player.

Anderson was presented the award on Monday night by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

The 6-foot-4, 243-pound Anderson had 10 sacks for the No. 5-ranked Crimson Tide this season. He also won the award last year after recording 17 1/2 sacks.

Anderson, a junior, had two sacks in Alabama’s regular-season win finale against rival Auburn and had his first touchdown when he returned an interception 25 yards against Louisiana-Monroe.

Anderson joins former Northwestern linebacker Pat Fitzgerald as the only two-time winner of the award. Fitzgerald won the award in 1995 and 1996 and later went on to become the head coach at Northwestern.

It’s unclear if Anderson will enter the NFL draft or return to Alabama next season.

FSU standout QB Jordan Travis returning for senior season

Alicia Devine/Tallahassee Democrat / USA TODAY NETWORK

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State quarterback Jordan Travis, the fourth player in school history to account for 3,000 yards and 30 touchdowns in a single season, is staying in school for his senior year.

Travis made the announcement Monday, the same day hundreds of players across the nation entered the NCAA transfer portal or declared for the NFL draft. Travis chose a different path and could be an early favorite in next year’s Heisman Trophy race.

“So many memories have been made on this field and we’re not done yet,” Travis said in a highlight video posted on social media. “See y’all in 2023.”

A fourth-year junior, Travis has 22 touchdown passes to go along with seven rushing scores, one receiving and just four interceptions. He has led the 13th-ranked Seminoles (9-3) to five consecutive wins as they prepare to play Oklahoma (6-6) in the Cheez-It Bowl on Dec. 29 in Orlando.

Travis joined FSU’s three Heisman Trophy winners – Charlie Ward in 1993, Chris Weinke in 2000 and Jameis Winston in 2013 – to account for 3,000 yards and 30 TDs in a season. He is one of six QBs in Power Five conferences with at least 20 TD passes and four or fewer interceptions.